Rotaractor Divyum appointed president of Rotaract Club Chandigarh Himalayan

    Chandigarh : It was a glorious sight at the Principal P.L. Anand Auditorium, Punjab University on June 1, 2018 where Rotaract Club Chandigarh Himalayan saw the commencement of its installation ceremony for the tenure 2018-2019. Rotaract Himalayan is a student-run non-profit organization operational in colleges all over the tricity. Having organized several events like Pirates of the City, Salsa Slam, Bowling Brawls and Kids’ Olympics under its banner, the club has gained mammoth popularity amongst youth in Chandigarh.

    For the club, it was an occasion of nostalgia and festivity at the same time as it had to bid goodbyes to its old leaders and greet hellos to the new ones. The function began with the lighting of the lamp. The Charter President of Rotaract Himalayan, Sandeep Singh and former President Bhavesh Dhoundiyan were the dignitaries who became a part of the momentous occasion.

    The event proceeded with the collaring of the outgoing President Priya Krishnan by the Sergeant of Arms, Rotaractor Digvijay. Speeches by the visiting guests added to the firmament of the occasion. The outgoing President Ms. Priya Krishnan, the departing club Vice-President Shiv Suri, the leaving Joint Secretary Ambuj Chaturvedi and the retreating BOD, Rotaractor Digvijay were then invited on stage sequentially to share their experiences of their association with the club. Videos clips were played as well, featuring Rotaractors who had some messages for the outgoing leaders.

    After this series of recollection of memories, the much awaited moment of the announcement of the name of the new President came into setting. Rotaractor Divyum was appointed as the Club President for the tenure 2018-2019. A BOD in the previous tenure, he exhibited exemplary dedication in the journey of his association with Rotaract Himalayan and thus the post was conferred upon him. After his collaring, his Board of Directors was announced.

    With Rotaractor Divyum as the Club President, Rotaractor Satyam Batra was appointed as the General Secretary, Harwinder Singh as the Joint Secretary, Saroj Biswas as the Treasurer, Nabhanya Oberoi as the Joint-Treasurer, Yashodhara Bose was appointed to chair Club Literacy, Manveen Arora as the Director of Vocational Services, Tanya Trehan as the Director of International Services, Sumeet Singh as the Sergeant of Arms, Shivam Choudhary as the Director for Brand Promotions and Baneetpal as the Director for Public Relations.

    After these appointments, the General Secretary addressed the gathering. As a token of gratitude and appreciation, the old BODs were presented T-shirts. It was followed by announcement of Rotaractor Himanshu Malik and Rotaractor Manmit Kaur Chhabra as the Best Rotaractors of the Year. Project Adult Literacy was announced as the Best Project of the Year. The function concluded with certificate distribution for the Rotaractors.

    The Club has been doing commendable activity in the field of Social Welfare. Its active volunteers and innovative programs are appreciable. Monetary gains from its fund raising events are used in the upkeep of its Project Happy Schools. This project involves several government schools adopted by Rotaract Himalayan in areas around Chandigarh, the maintenance of which is done by the club. The club provides for their basic necessities like drinking water, benches, stationery and books. Volunteers of the club paint walls of these schools to make them lively so that children are attracted toward their places of learning.  The efforts of Rotaract Himalayan are worthy of all praise.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.